Student Wellbeing at Birmingham Primary School:

At Birmingham Primary school, we believe that in order for students to learn to their full potential they need to feel safe, valued and respected in their learning environment.

We provide an environment and curriculum that challenges students to achieve to their highest potential and which develops knowledge, skills and resilience to be successful global citizens.

In addition to our teaching staff we have a school chaplain, an intervention program and a dedicated team of allied education professionals (i.e.: psychologist, speech therapist) who all work together to ensure that the students at Birmingham Primary School travel along their school journey feeling supported and able to reach their full potential.

Student Wellbeing throughout the Department of Education and Training:

We all have an obligation to do the best we can to keep children safe from harm and abuse. Victorian organisations that provide services or facilities for children are required by law to implement Child Safe Standards to protect children from harm.

Why do we need Child Safe Standards?

All organisations working with children must take steps to prevent abuse. They cannot assume that child abuse does not, and cannot, happen within their organisation.


Child Safe Standards aim to:

  • promote the safety of children
  • prevent child abuse
  • ensure organisations and businesses have effective processes in place to respond to and report all allegations of child abuse.

Child Safe Standards work by:

  • driving changes in organisational culture – embedding child safety in everyday thinking and practice
  • providing a minimum standard of child safety across all organisations
  • highlighting that we all have a role to keep children safe from abuse.
The Child-Safe Standards:

There are seven child safe standards:

Standard 1: Governance and leadership
Standard 2: Clear commitment to child safety
Standard 3: Code of conduct
Standard 3: Code of conduct
Standard 4: Human resource practices
Standard 5: Responding and reporting
Standard 6: Risk management and mitigation
Standard 7: Empowering children
Standard 7: Empowering children.